August 10th, 2015 | by CollegeAD

State Sen. Tom Whatley of Auburn proposed a resolution today urging Auburn University to claim nine national championships in football. Auburn won the national title in 1957 and 2010. Whatley’s resolution, which has six Senate co-sponsors, urged Auburn to claim championships in 1910, 1913, 1914, 1958, 1983, 1993 and 2004. Senators talked briefly about the resolution before sending it to a committee without a vote. The idea of retroactively claiming championships is not new. The Auburn athletic department had a committee study whether to claim national championships in six seasons — all of those in Whatley’s resolution except for 1958. Athletic Director Jay Jacobs announced in May that the school had decided to claim only the 1957 and 2010 championships. -Mike Cason, AL.Com, Read More

About CollegeAD
Have a tip, job posting, or press release for CollegeAD? Email us atĀ [email protected], or direct messageĀ @collegead. Sources always remain anonymous.

Leave a Reply

A Briefing Of The Day's College Athletics News
To Your Inbox Tonight.

* indicates required